Columbia athletics

Columbia Athletics to Host University C’s 99th Annual Celebration Tuesday Night

NEW YORK – Columbia University Athletics will host the 99th edition C University Celebration, its annual year-end awards ceremony, on Tuesday, May 3 at the Levien Gymnasium inside the Dodge Fitness Center. Doors open at 4 p.m. and start of the official program at 5 p.m. A welcome dinner is scheduled for 6:30 p.m.

Modeled after the popular ESPYS awards show, the Varsity C Celebration serves as the final gathering event for all of Columbia’s more than 800 student-athletes to showcase accomplishments and milestones. The highest honors will be awarded to several of Lions’ brightest stars. In addition to the presentation of several major awards, the evening will feature videos and highlights celebrating the great moments and achievements accomplished this year. Winners of individual sports programs will also be recognized at the event.

The male and female finalists for the prestigious Connie S. Maniatty Award and the William V. Campbell Performer of the Year Award have been announced and are listed below. Additionally, Columbia Athletics student-athletes and fans had a chance to take to social media to vote for their favorite men’s and women’s games, performances and Games of the Year over the past week. Fan-voted winners will also be announced at Tuesday night’s ceremony.

the Connie S. Maniatty Award is awarded annually to the best male and senior female student-athletes in recognition of their outstanding careers in Colombia. the William V. Campbell Performer of the Year will be awarded to one male student-athlete and one female student-athlete who have demonstrated superior athletic ability during the 2021-2022 academic year. Two student-athletes in their first year of collegiate athletic competition will also receive the Varsity C Rookie of the Year Awards.

In addition to these six awards, Columbia is also announcing the winners of the Paul E. Fernandes Community Service Awardwhich is presented to the University Athletic Program that makes the most significant contributions and notable service to the University and local communities during each academic year, the Lions Cupwhich rewards the most outstanding team based on points in several categories, including academic, athletic, personal and social responsibility, and Karen Blank Awardwhich honors the top senior female student-athlete enrolled at Barnard College and exemplifies the qualities of academic achievement, athletic achievement, strong athletic behavior and community involvement.

Columbia Athletics will also award senior watch awards to senior student-athletes achieving the highest grade point averages with at least two varsity letters: the Marion R. Philips Watch and the Watch Dwight D. Eisenhower.

American sports administrator Sunil Gulati will serve as master of ceremonies. From 2006 to 2018, Gulati served as President of the United States Soccer Federation (USSF), also served as Assistant Commissioner of Major League Soccer since its launch in 1999 before becoming President of Kraft Soccer Properties, post which he held until 2011. He was intimately involved in the rise of the United States Men’s National Team. Gulati received her Masters of Arts and Masters of Philosophy in Economics from Columbia University and currently works as a lecturer in the Department of Economics at Columbia.

Planning for this year’s celebration was coordinated with a student-athlete planning committee comprised of Diksha Aurobindo, Anabelle Brodeur, Kaitlyn Davis, Alexis Florio, Evan Loesel, Maddy Rifenberick, Maya Walker and Jennifer Wang.

To support the 99th Annual Varsity C Celebration and our student-athletes, donate HERE.



Women finalists (5)
Sylvie Binder, Fencing
Meghan Collins, archery
Kelsey Farkas, field hockey
Jennifer Kerr, Tennis
Maria Pagane, softball

Men’s Finalists (5)
Jonas Kistorp, swimming and diving
Sidarth Kumbla, fencing
Ben MathiasmeierFootball
Mike RoussosFootball
Velavan Senthilkumar, squash


Women Finalists (6)
Phoebe Anderson, Cross Country/Athletics
Nora Burke, fencing
Kaitlyn Davis, basketball
Abbey HsuBasketball
Sachiko Keane, archery
Abby Stuart, softball

Men’s Finalists (6)
Ashton Daniel, fencing
Nathan Han, golfer
Matt Kazimir, Wrestling
Alex Kotzen, Tennis
Dante Miller, Footballer
Jonathan Suckow, diving


Women Finalists (6)
Phoebe Anderson, Cross Country/Athletics
Simmi Chan, squash
Kitty Henderson, basketball
Farida Mohamed, squash
Nata RamirezFootball
Zander Rhodes, Fencing

Men’s Finalists (6)
Michael Danzi, Cross Country/Athletics
Demirkan Demir, swimming and diving
Joe Green, footballer
Anton Lazits, baseball
Joshua Ogunsanya, Wrestling
Geronimo Rubio De La RosaBasketball