Columbia athletics

Columbia Athletics inducts Class of 2016 into Hall of Fame

Male student-athletes, heritage era
Howie Hansen ’52CC, Soccer
Bob Hartman ’52CC, Wrestling
Male student-athletes, modern era
Steve Charles ’82CC, Men’s Soccer
Paul Kaliades ’73CC, Football/Baseball
James Margolis ’58CC, Fencing
Matt Palmer ’07CC, Wrestling
Johnathan Reese ’02CC, Football

Jeff Spear ’10CC, Fencing

Female student-athletes
Allison Buehler ’03CC, Softball
Liz Cheung-Gaffney ’98CC, Soccer
Ylonka Dubout-Wills ’84BC, Athletics
Megan Griffith ’07CC, Basketball
Judie Lomax ’10BC, Basketball
Sara Ovadia ’09CC, Golf
Sophie Reiser ’10CC, Soccer
Team, Heritage Era
1954 Men’s Fencing
Team, modern era
1979 Men’s Football
Team, Woman
2006 Women’s Football
Athletics staff
Kevin DeMarrais ’64CC, Sports News Director
(1965-67, 1969-84)
Paul Fernandes, Associate RW/Baseball (1977-2008)
Ron Russo, Wrestling (1972-91)
Special category
Rocco B. Commisso ’71SEAS Men’s Soccer
Roone Arldege ’52CC

NEW YORK – A packed house attended the induction of Columbia University Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2016 on Thursday, October 20, in the rotunda of the lower library. President, University Trustees Jonathan Schiller and Campbell Family Director, Intercollegiate Athletics and Physical Education Peter Pilling joined Columbia Athletics alumni, fans and friends as enthusiastic guests at the ceremony.

NFL Network’s Ian Rappaport ’02CC hosted the black tie event.

Columbia’s track and field program has featured some of the most notable names in American sports history. Among the members of the Columbia University Athletics Hall of Fame the inaugural class, inducted in 2006, were Baseball Hall of Famers Lou Gehrig 1921-23CC and Eddie Collins 1907CC, college football legends Sid Luckman ’39CC and Lou Little (head coach), as well as the former Olympic gold medalist swimmer and Honda-Broderick Prize-winner Cristina Teuscher ’00CC.

Columbia University Athletics Hall of Fame The Class of 2016 will be recognized at half-time of Saturday’s Homecoming football match against Dartmouth in midfield on Saturday, October 22.